Poverty is relative

October 15, 2008 at 1:11 pm 2 comments

I’m feeling distinctly grumpy today. For reasons which I won’t go into (I might elsewhere, but it would detract from the point of this post), I’m unable to travel to Jamaica next week for a planned trip to indulge in my hobby of ham radio contesting. This makes me unhappy.

Call it middle-class guilt if you wish, but reading other Blog Action Day posts has been a humbling experience. To even be able to consider making a trip such as the one I’ve just had to cancel puts me so high up in the 99th percentile of well-off people in the world that it’s almost obscene. Sure, there are plenty of people better off than me, but huge numbers much, much worse.

I can’t fix world poverty. But I can do something positive. I’m off to kiva.org to make some microfinance loans to entrepreneurial people in less well-off areas to help them get local businesses off the ground.

What are you doing?

Blog Action Day 2008

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Twitter stops texting in Europe Gloomy outlook for the broadband industry?

2 Comments Add your own

  • […] Peeebeee writes: “Call it middle-class guilt if you wish, but reading other Blog Action Day posts has been a humbling experience.” Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Blog Action Day 200810 things you can do to make poverty historyGlobal Call to Action Against Poverty, Oxfam, Save the Children, Comic Reli… No Comments Leave a Commenttrackback addressThere was an error with your comment, please try again. name (required)email (will not be published) (required)url […]

    Reply
  • 2. Mainframeguy  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Congratulations on featuring in the google selection of blogs on the subject! I have no idea how they selected just 37 of the many thousands, but it seems you made the cut!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS My Twitter feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Feeds

Supporting FOWA UK Tour 2009


